Here she is, boys! Here she is, world!

It’s June! So this is obligatory:

Sell it, Leslie. Sell it.

Man. Crazy couple of weeks over here, blog. Kind of balls-to-the-walls, in the best possible way. I got offered two great roles at two great companies, in two great shows that rehearse and run almost concurrently. Having to chose between them sucked, because I love everyone on both production teams and hate disappointing people, but on the bright side? That was not the worst problem in the world to have. I mean, if the hardest part of my life right now is that I am getting cast in too many shows? I think I’m doing just fine. 2011, you may be salvaged yet.

The role I ended up accepting is Rose in Gypsy. I auditioned mostly just to prove to myself that I could. I’ve spent a lot of years of my life talking myself out of things I want to do — auditions especially — based on thoughts of not being good enough; not talented enough, not thin enough, not pretty enough, blah blah blah. Consequently, I’ve let a lot of stuff pass me by. So auditioning for Gypsy was more about going and giving it my best shot, and accepting that not getting it wouldn’t be the end of the world. Actually landing the part was a pleasant, if unexpected, side-effect. And now I get to cross a major role off of my theatrical bucket list, like, fifteen years ahead of schedule! Neat.

(I am secretly terrified. This is a fuckin’ bear of a part. So much belting! And I have to act, you guys! I don’t know how I’m going to pull that off. I mean, this is basically the extent of my process:

Yeah. We’ll see how far that gets me.)

Information on the show’s run has been posted HERE. Fair warning: I will probably not stop plugging this thing from now to October. I’mma sell me some tickets, y’all.

Anyway. I’ve got about two weeks left of semi-calm, then it’s nonstop school and dance classes and Curtains through August, after which it becomes non-stop school and Gypsy, followed by non-stop school and (fingers crossed) Into the Woods. So basically no one is ever going to see me again until January. Aaaaaand maybe not even then, if things continue going to plan. Hooray!

3 thoughts on “Here she is, boys! Here she is, world!

  1. I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am for you, and for the audiences. You are one crazy talented woman, and HOORAY for finally getting the memo that you are :D. You were awesome in TMM, and I totally had a gut feeling that was just the beginning!

  2. You either got it, or you ain’t. And, woman, you got it. Just remember me when you see me hangin’ ’round a New York theatre stage door some day.

Leave a Reply

