I’M GONNA WRECK IT! And by “it,” I mean your heart.

OH I’M SORRY WERE YOU USING THAT?

Dude. Wreck-It Ralph? SO. GOOD. Alarmingly enjoyable. I went in sure that I was going to give it nothing more than a “meh,” but three — count ’em, three — instances of quiet weeping later, and I have to admit that it made me feel all the feelings. Story-wise, this is perhaps the most solid animated movie Disney has released in the last decade. They got the heart right, and let everything flow from there. It almost felt…Pixar-y. Like, this was the first entry in the “animated classics” canon since the merger that I really felt had Lasseter all over it. It may not be the Disney of my youth, but it’s a Disney that’s finding it’s way again, and I’m all for that.

I am also all for the gorgeous short preceding the film, simply titled Paperman. Yet more proof it isn’t medium that matters, it’s story.

You know what I’m not all for? The Great and Powerful OZ, and its entire shitty, overly-CGIed, Burton’s Alice in Wonderland aesthetic. Get out of here, James Franco, and take your enormous hot air bong-loon with you.

(I won’t spoil anything for Wreck-It Ralph, because it’s worth going in and seeing yourself, but I have to say: Alan Tudyk’s portrayal of King Candy by way of Ed Wynn’s Mad Hatter? Perhaps one of the single greatest things to ever happen to me. Oh my god.)

NaBloPoMo 2012
One thought on “I’M GONNA WRECK IT! And by “it,” I mean your heart.

  1. Oh I see. Greatest thing to ever happen to you. Well. Gettin your Wynn fix someplace else these days. Hm. Well that’s just fine. That’s just FINE. Maybe I’ll find the next floozy I see and PINCH HER ELBOW, HOW ABOUT THAT?! Huh?! HOW ABOUT THAT?!

Leave a Reply

