NaBloPoMo ’14, Day Two: Now away with us, to our individual goings-on!

There really isn’t anything quite like a closing night cast party to remind you that no matter how much you still feel like you’re 22, you are, in fact, thirty entire years of age, so maybe cool it with the rum-and-Cokes and the not-getting-home-until-4:00.

(Other good age-reminder: Collapsing full-force to your knees on the hard, wooden stage floor during your death scene for five straight weekends, without kneepads. Keep an eye out for my upcoming Indiegogo campaign to fund my bionic patella replacements!)

(Ray of Light sure does like having me collapse and die onstage in their shows.)

(Heather Orth as Tony in Ray of Light’s West Side Story, Fall 2015.)

So yes, Yeast Nation was here, and now it is gone. Though we had a five-week break between our informal workshop and the beginning of actual rehearsals, it was still a project on which we’d all been working as a group since the first week of June. That’s a long, long time to live with a show/cast, at least at the community theatre level. And I won’t lie…the last couple of weekends became a bit of a slog for me. It’s hard to be on a stage giving your all and not getting much in return from your audiences; in my case in particular, to be absolutely shredding my vocal cords with my ill-chosen character voice for tiny houses of onlookers who were generally apathetic at best. I wish more people had seen it. I wish more people went to theatre in general. I wish we had gotten reviewed more, and by reputable publications that utilize crazy things like copy editors, proofreading, or some recognizable form of the English language. I wish the cow was full of milk, I wish the walls were full of gold, I wish a lot of things.

I will always be grateful, however, for the opportunity to have worked on a new, evolving piece of theatre, and for the time I got to spend with the pair of affable, Tony-winning geniuses responsible for creating it. Also, this cast was full of some bomb-ass folks with maaaaajor pipes, and I’mma miss ’em hardcore. Also also, I’m looking into what it would take to get our stage manager, Laraine, to stage manage my entire existence. Lord knows somebody needs to.

First rehearsal for Something For the Boys at 42nd Street Moon tomorrow, and then our first performance three weeks after that. Woo! And also yikes. But mostly woo.

Leave a Reply

