NaBloPoMo ’14, Day Seven: And baby makes three.

Yes, I’m well on my way to having a full nuclear family of late NaBloPoMo posts, and basically all of them boil down to slightly-expanded Facebook statuses, so who really cares anyway. Not meeeeeeeeee!

Jumping from Yeast Nation to Something For the Boys is still just the mind-fuckiest thing. But…kind of great? I mean, I loved working on Yeast Nation. It challenged me in ways nothing I’ve ever worked on before has, and felt raw and exciting and weirdly dangerous…but Something For the Boys? Feels like home. This is my shit right here. Cole Porter songs, rapid-fire 40s banter packed with absurd period jargon, a character whose only job is to feel human feelings and hopefully make the audience feel them too; it’s nice. It comes naturally to me, this style. Yeast, I was struggling to get off book up until tech; this one, we block a scene and bam, my lines are memorized. Which is good, because we open in less than three weeks.

Choreography rehearsal tomorrow, so I can almost guarantee that the blog entry following it will be nothing but an audio clip of me weeping nonstop for a solid hour.

One thought on “NaBloPoMo ’14, Day Seven: And baby makes three.

  1. I miss you and I’m so glad you’re NaBlo-ing it this year so I can hear about everything. Break a leg at choreography, heh heh heh.

Leave a Reply

